Events Calendar

Jessica Kahkoska presents "It Takes a Village: Responding to Wildfire with Theatre and Collaboration"

Everyone is invited to attend this live Zoom event with Jessica Kahkoska. In her talk "It Takes a Village: Responding to Wildfire with Theatre and Collaboration," she'll discuss the creation and process of "Wild Fire," a play with music that received its World Premiere Production in August 2021 at the Denver Center for the Performing Arts and toured across Colorado. “Wild Fire” responds to the 2020 East Troublesome Fire, was inspired by real testimony from over 30 interviews conducted by Kahkoska, and featured songs by prominent Colorado folk artists. Kahkoska will reflect on the creative process from inspiration to production, featuring special guests including a Grand County fire chief, former park ranger, and professional actor in the production.

Jessica Kahkoska is a writer, dramaturg, and researcher most interested in projects driven by interdisciplinary research, community collaboration, and her love of the American West. She has received the Dramatists Guild Foundation Fellowship, a RedLine Contemporary Arts Center "Arts-in-Society" grant, the Marion International Fellowship, and many other honors.

SCHEDULE
This lecture is part of Spring Creek Project's lecture series "Lookout: Envisioning Futures with Wildfire." Talks in the series will be broadcast live on Zoom Tuesdays at 6 p.m. PST / 8 p.m. CST / 9 p.m. EST from January 4 to March 15. Learn more and register for other talks here: https://bit.ly/3lHTlex

This series is hosted by the Spring Creek Project and the Environmental Arts and Humanities Initiative at Oregon State University (OSU) and co-sponsored by OSU's Arts and Education Complex, OSU's Center for the Humanities, OSU's Sustainability Office, and Terrain.org. 

Tuesday, March 1, 2022 at 6:00pm

Virtual Event

Recent Activity

You're not going yet!

This event requires registration.