Events Calendar

The Literary Northwest Series Presents Keith Scribner and Gary Fisketjon

Gary Fisketjon worked at Random House, Vintage Books, and the Atlantic Monthly Press until 1990, when he joined Alfred A. Knopf, where he is now Vice President and Editor at Large. Authors he has published have won the Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Award, the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Booker Prize, the Nobel Prize, the Award in Literature and the E.M. Forster Award and the Sue Kaufman Prize from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Wallace Stegner Award, the John Dos Passos Prize, the Franz Kafka Prize, the Minnesota Book Award, the Mississippi Authors Award, the California Book Award, the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Award, the Mountains and Plains Booksellers Award, the Southeastern Booksellers Award, the Somerset Maugham Award, the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, the Commonwealth Prize, the PEN/Faulkner Award, the PEN/Malamud Award, the PEN/Saul Bellow Award, the Richard Wright Award, the Rea Award, the Prix Médicis, the Prix Femina, the Grand Prix de Littérature Américaine, the Jerusalem Prize, and the Yomiuri Literary Prize. 

These writers include Martin Amis, Julian Barnes, Ned Beauman, Joseph Boyden, Elizabeth Brundage. Peter Carey, Raymond Carver, Martin Clark, Jonathan Coe, Nik Cohn, Andre Dubus, Bret Easton Ellis, Isabel Fonseca, Richard Ford, Joshua Furst, David Gates, Tim Gautreaux, Martha Gellhorn, Peter Geye, Spalding Gray, Allan Gurganus, Kent Haruf, Patricia Highsmith, Robert Hobbs, Janet Hobhouse, Michel Houllebecq, Kazuo Ishiguro, Lee Clay Johnson, William Kittredge, Beverly Lowry, Jim Lynch, Cormac McCarthy, Thomas McGuane, Jay McInerney, Haruki Murakami, Bruce Murkoff, Redmond O’Hanlon, Alix Ohlin, Jonathan Raban, Adam Ross, Richard Russo, Keith Scribner, Jim Shepard, Mona Simpson, Mark Spragg, Graham Swift, Donna Tartt, Rupert Thomson, Gore Vidal, Joy Williams, Jeanette Winterson, Geoffrey Wolff, Tobias Wolff, and Steve Yarbrough.

Keith Scribner has taught in OSU’s MFA program since its founding. He’s the author of four novels, the most recent, Old Newgate Road, published by Alfred A. Knopf in January 2019. His previous novel The Oregon Experiment is set in a fictionalized Corvallis and a university that bears some resemblance to our own. His books appear in translation and his novel The Goodlife was selected for the Barnes and Noble Discover Great New Writers series, and was a New York Times Notable Book of the Year.

His fiction and nonfiction have appeared in The New York Times Magazine, The Daily Beast, TriQuarterly, American Short Fiction, Quarterly West, The North Atlantic Review, the San Jose Mercury News, the Baltimore Sun, and the anthologies Flash Fiction Forward (W.W. Norton) and Sudden Stories: The MAMMOTH Book of Miniscule Fiction. He received both Pushcart and O’Henry Prize Honorable Mentions for his short story, “Paradise in a Cup.”

His short story “Level” was adapted into an opera by composer Matthew Welch of Experiments in Opera. It premiered at Symphony Space in New York City in May 2017.

Scribner received his BA from Vassar College and MFA from the University of Montana. He was awarded Wallace Stegner and John L’Heureux Fellowships in Fiction at Stanford University, where he went on to teach in the Creative Writing Program as a Jones Lecturer. He loves living in Corvallis.

Friday, March 8 at 7:30pm to 9:30pm

Learning Innovation Center (LINC), 128
165 SW Sackett Place, Corvallis, OR 97321

Event Type

Lecture or Presentation

Event Topic

Art and Entertainment


Community, Faculty and Staff, Student, Alumni, International



Free and open to the public

School of Writing, Literature, and Film


Contact Name

Teagan Lochner

Contact Email

Google Calendar iCal Outlook

Recent Activity